Page Turner Book Tour: Killer On The Road by Charles O’Keefe

NewfoundlandVampire2-cover
Series: The Newfoundland Vampire
Author: Charles O’Keefe
Publisher: Penumbra Publishing
Formats Available In: All eBook formats and Print
Release Date: January, 2011
Rating: 4 stars

Disclosure of Material Connection: I was given a copy of this book from Page Turner Tours and the author in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am posting this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”.

Blurb: Joseph O’Reily is still adjusting to the lifestyle and the dangers that come with being a new vampire. He and Cassandra recently fought to the death with Cassandra’s estranged husband John Snow, and now Joseph has experienced his first ménage a trios, as only a vampire can. As if all of this was not complicated enough, he and Cassandra have been tasked with hunting down and killing a rogue vampire, Donald Rathmore.

Another of John Snow’s creations, Donald is an evil misogynistic killer in his own right. Donald has no interest in avenging his creator’s death, but killing Cassandra is at the top of his list.

While Donald continues his murderous spree, Joseph and Cassandra always seem to be one step behind him. The chase is further complicated as they encounter other vampires and learn more about the mysterious nature of the Vampire Council and the coming war between good and evil.

Joseph is only now beginning to trust Cassandra, and this trust will be shaken when he discovers she has even more secrets than he imagined. Her idea of justice and morality is at complete odds with his own. Despite all his powers and growing skill, Joseph is tested physically as a vampire and emotionally by Cassandra. This time the answers and challenges may be too much for the young vampire to handle.

Amazon

Amazon Kindle

Amazon UK

Barnes and Noble

vampirecharlesokeefe picAbout Charles O’Keefe:

Charles O’Keefe lives in the beautiful province of Newfoundland, Canada, with his wife and two feline ‘children,’ Jude and Esther. He works as an I.T. support guy and enjoys many hobbies and activities that include writing, reading, watching fantasy/science-fiction movies and television shows, gaming, poker, walking, acting, martial arts and of course fantasizing about vampires.

He currently has two novels out, books 1 and 2 of “The Newfoundland Vampire” series.

Amazon author page
Blog
Facebook
Goodreads
Twitter
Website

Killer on the road poster

Killer on the Road Giveaway: a Rafflecopter giveaway

My Thoughts:
I know Charles didn’t think he’d make me smile when he wrote this book but I just couldn’t help myself when he makes references to some songs that I’m familiar with. Sometimes a chapter title might start as the title of a song or you might see some of the lyrics appear somewhere within a chapter. And then I smile again when Charles references an actor that I grew up watching. But now I have to get serious, this is a horror tale after all.

Donald Rathmore is a vampire out for a swim – somehow I never thought of swimming and vampires in the same story. That’s not the only difference these vampires have from others that I have read about. This shows how creative our author is. On the flipside, Donald has an evil agenda.

Joseph is a very sensual vampire and so is his partner Cassandra. She’s also the woman who made him. This story is about the mission they’ve been given. Donald may be the villain of this piece but he’s what has me hooked into this story. I also like that our author doesn’t romanticize his vampires.

If I had one disappointment it was that I didn’t see more of Donald. This being a horror story, I wanted to read more of his evil ways. But then again, this is a good thing because now I will want to read the rest of this series.

This book does have a lot of vampire action that will have you in its grip from beginning to end and then leaves you holding your breath at the end. The book has a lot of detail but the carnage is not what I would consider hardcore horror. But if you use your imagination you can add as much blood and gore as you want – for me, it was just enough. And you’ll be happy to know that the Epilogue will get you ready for the next book. In the meantime, you may just want to check out this book.

2 thoughts on “Page Turner Book Tour: Killer On The Road by Charles O’Keefe

  1. Hi Lynn :)

    Thanks so much for your kind review. I’m so glad I made you smile, I have a lot of fun writing my books so when someone enjoys them…well it makes me smile so it’s a great full circle kind of effect :-) I hope you’ll pick up book 1 sometime. Donald is one messed up evil dude but I enjoyed writing him none the less, there’s lots more bad people to come in book 3. Thanks again!

    Like this

Leave a Reply

